Photo: © Joël de Vriend - Unsplash

Provinces in the Netherlands

The Netherlands has twelve provinces: Noord-Holland, Zuid-Holland, Zeeland, Noord-Brabant, Utrecht, Flevoland, Friesland, Groningen, Drenthe, Overijssel, Gelderland and Limburg. Every province has its own capital. View the holiday destinations and cities for each province and the attractions of each region.

Discover 12 unique regions

Friesland Groningen Drenthe North Holland Flevoland Overijssel South Holland Utrecht Gelderland Zeeland North Brabant Limburg

Coastal provinces

Grootschermer, North Holland

North Holland

Visit the province of North Holland with cities like Amsterdam, Haarlem and Alkmaar, coastal towns like Zandvoort, and authentic villages like Volendam and Edam.


South Holland

Visit the province of South Holland with its windmills, flower-bulb fields, beautiful coastal towns like Noordwijk and Scheveningen, and big cities like The Hague and Rotterdam.



Zeeland boasts beautiful beaches and great seaside towns like Domburg and Renesse. Book a holiday home by the sea, go cycling or hiking on the Wadden, and discover the best restaurants.

Northern provinces

Smeerling, Groningen


Discover the good life in the province of Groningen! Beautiful villages and cities like Appingedam and Bourtange, the coast and the Wadden Sea, space and quiet, and the bustling capital Groningen.



Visit extraordinary Drenthe with its prehistoric hunebeds, the biggest single wet heathland area called Dwingelerveld, and pleasant cities like Emmen and Coevorden.



Visit the northern province of Friesland and discover their own unique language, culture, delicacies and the breathtaking nature reserve of the Wadden Islands.

Provinces in the center of the Netherlands



If you’re looking for a holiday bursting at the seams with natural beauty, fascinating culture and culinary delight, then you can’t go wrong in Gelderland’s regions: the Veluwe, the Arnhem-Nijmegen area, Rivierenland and the Achterhoek.



Visit Overijssel with its special nature reserves like the Weerribben, Hanseatic cities like Kampen and Zwolle in the IJsseldelta region, and the Venice of the North: Giethoorn.



Discover Holland’s newest province! Enjoy the multifaceted destination of Flevoland with its beautiful nature, history, water sports and modern architecture.

Pandhof Dom in Utrecht


Utrecht is the smallest province in Holland but is full of beautiful castles, special natural landscapes, and a pleasant capital that is also called Utrecht.

Southern provinces


North Brabant

Visit the province of Noord-Brabant and discover the region of Van Gogh's birth, the cities of Breda, Den Bosch and Eindhoven, and De Biesbosch nature reserve.



Discover the culinary province of Holland: Limburg. Historic cities, vineyards, and asparagus when the season is right. The varied landscape makes for great cycling and hiking.

Frequently Asked Questions